Why I Ran Today

Fridays are scheduled as a rest day from running. I go to the gym in the morning with Matt and do a chest and shoulders workout so it isn’t a full-blown rest day. Usually, that’s enough.

Not today. Today was the first truly sunny, relatively warm day we’ve had in months. The wind was still chilly but for once, the ratio of blue sky to clouds was skewed in favor of blue sky.

IMG_0362

On a day like today, I just could not sit inside all day. So, even though it was my rest day, I decided to go for an easy run, no longer than 30 minutes.

Why do I run? Today, I ran to be outside in the sunshine.

IMG_0371

I ran without my watch, without starting the Nike+RunClub app. I took my time, never pushing myself because it was my rest day and my legs are  really sore from yesterday. I listened to music and thought about how lucky I am to be in a place where I can run at all, let alone outside in the sunshine.

IMG_0365

I also realized that as excited as I am to graduate and move to Boise, I’m going to miss Moscow. I’m going to miss walking to dinner. I’m going to miss the excited energy that comes from freshmen seeing the campus for the first time. I’m going to miss all the friends I’ve made here. I’m going to miss my favorite coffee shop.

I’m excited to see this place I’ve called home come back to life one more time. I can’t wait to see the first new leaves sprout on the trees. I can’t wait to see the Palouse turn from brown dirt to rolling green hills. I can’t wait to see the spring flowers push out of the earth. I can’t wait to sit outside, sharing one last drink with my friends.

IMG_0367

I ran today because I wanted to be outside but in the end, the run gave me time to reflect on everything that is going to change in a few weeks and for that, I am so grateful.

So, fellow humans, why did you run today?

 

Leave a Reply

