10 Running Songs

Happy Monday, beautiful humans. I thought today I’d share a few of the songs I have on my running playlist. When I started running, almost ten years ago, I took my iPod Nano with me. I held it in my free hand (I had my dog’s leash in the other,) tucked it into my waist band or zipped it into my jacket pocket.

One of the many reasons I like running with music is that it really allows my mind to work through whatever it needs to on the given day. I’ve also found that a good song can keep me going when all I really want to do is lay down in the shade.

This is by no means an extensive list but I’m always happy to find running song recommendations on the Internet so I thought I’d pay it forward.

In no particular order (which means this is the order I found them on Spotify) here we go:

#1: “Footloose” by Kenny Loggins. What more could you ask for in a running song? Upbeat lyrics to match the beat and a healthy dose of nostalgia. My mom loves this song and so do I. And, frankly, Blake Shelton did not do it justice in the remake.

#2: “Feels Like the First Time” by Daughtry. I know this is a cover but I’m a big fan of Daughtry, so I’m partial to this version. I particularly love listening to this song when running up a large hill.

#3: “Hold Your Ground” by Cavo. Yes, this song has good lyrics. But it has an awesome beat that will make any tired feet move just a little bit faster.

#4: “I Got You” by Cimorelli. Definitely not like the previous song, this one fits squarely in the ‘Pop’ category. This song is perfect for the home stretch of any run, be it long or short.

#5: “Immortals” by Fall Out Boy. Yes, I love this song because of Big Hero 6 (an excellent Disney movie if you haven’t seen it, by the way) and it reminds me of when Matt and I first started dating. Again, nostalgia can be a great thing on a run.

#6: “Pour Some Sugar on Me” by Def Leppard. Need I say more?

#7: “The Boys of Summer” by Ataris. I added this song last autumn, so I have yet to run to it in the summer but I’m excited for when that day comes.

#8: “Melodies” by Madison Beer. If you’re looking for a feel-good pop song, you should give this one a listen. The beat isn’t as quick as some of the other songs on this list but I still love it.

#9: “Super Girl feat. Jessie Payo” by Samantha Marq. A girl power anthem if ever there was one.

#10: “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten. This might seem like an odd choice since the song switches between the awesome, powerhouse chorus and the lighter, piano-backed verses but how can you not love a fight song when you’re on mile 12 of 13?

There you go. Ten potential songs for your running playlist. I use Spotify, so I don’t know how many of these can be found on iTunes. Let me know if you listen to any of them and which ones you like the best!

Until the next time,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

