Sunday Recap

Hello, beautiful humans. It’s been a while but I have a pretty good excuse. So before I get to my weekly recap of training, here’s what I’ve been up to since we the last time we talked.

Matt and I went on vacation to his family’s cabin in Montana. The week we came back was orientation for law school, which consisted of going to campus for 7-8 hours and then homework. Then this week was my first official week of law school.

Needless to say, it’s been a busy three weeks. I’m so glad to be back on a training plan because I feel as if I’ve lost fitness since San Francisco. I liked feeling as strong as I did then and I’m ready for the new(ish) challenge of a half marathon.

So, here’s how my week went:

Monday: 4 miles at an easy pace. This was when I realized that 6:00 am in Moscow is much lighter out than 6:00 am in Boise (because Moscow is in the Pacific timezone. Don’t ask. Idaho is weird.) But it was a pretty good run.

IMG_2236

Boise was in 99.5% totality for the solar eclipse and in honor of that, the university cancelled all classes and the College of Law had to go along with it. But we had the final exam for the “class” we took during orientation at 3:30 so I went to campus for that.

Tuesday: Upper body weights. No picture because the apartment gym was weirdly crowded the entire time I was there. Then the actual first day of school.

Wednesday: Three mile run with a focus on speed. I ran 1 mile as a warm up and tried to run the next two at 9:00/mile. I ended up with 8:46 and 8:26, followed by a few minutes of cool down.

IMG_2257

Hi, forehead veins.

I would like to run Onward Shay (my half marathon) in under 2:00 so 9:00/mile would be great. But I need to learn how to hold back because I could not have sustained that 8:40 pace and it might have made it hard for me to maintain a 9:00 pace.

But hey, running sub-9:00 minute miles always makes me happy.

Thursday: Leg workout. I had the gym to myself for the second half of my workout…

IMG_2272

Then another day of class and homework. Matt’s parents had to go out of town for the weekend, so Cheryl dropped her kitten, Vinny, off for us to babysit. He’s a few weeks younger than Minnie:

IMG_2269

Friday: Four easy miles. They didn’t feel great, probably because my motivation to stretch has been next to nothing, but I got them done.

IMG_2282

I don’t have any classes scheduled on Friday but sometimes professors will hold make-up classes on Friday. In the interest of preserving part of my weekend to do whatever I want/need, I went to campus and worked on homework for about four and a half hours. I ran some errands, came home, and did a short chest/shoulder/ab workout.

Then I made Minnie selfie with me:

IMG_2290

I am a shameless cat mom.

We went out for breakfast for dinner. I found cinnamon roll pancakes that are heaven on a plate. Not joking.

Saturday: 7:00 am alarm for my 8 mile run. Felt pretty good until the last two miles because I was thirsty and didn’t have my handheld water bottle. It was also my longest run since San Francisco and that was pretty darn exciting.

IMG_2304

Saturday was Matt’s birthday (he’s 23) and he wanted to go to the farmer’s market. So we went. He got cilantro to make salsa and I got huckleberry jam. We then went to Costco to pick up a few things we need and let me tell you, Saturday at the Boise Costco is something out of a nightmare. So many people so unaware of the fact that there are people EVERYWHERE.

I hung out at my parents’ for the afternoon. Matt and I are trying Hello Fresh this week, so last night we made one of their recipes and it was turned out really well. I made him brownies in lieu of a cake for his birthday. Then we watched a movie and I conked out.

Sunday: Strangely, no grocery shopping for me today because we did it on Friday/ have Hello Fresh. I am going to pour myself another cup of coffee and work on homework. I’ll also be doing laundry. I WILL be doing yoga at some point this afternoon.

I’m going to A Midsummer Night’s Dream with my parents tonight and then Matt and I are going to stay up to watch the Game of Thrones season finale. I’m going to try to get up for my run tomorrow morning but if I don’t end up doing it till the afternoon, I’ll live.

As far as the blog goes, I think I can manage one post a week (besides the recaps) so look out for those.

Until the next time,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

