What I’m taking to San Francisco

Hi there! I thought I’d share what I’m taking with me to San Francisco, in case anyone packing for their first marathon/a weekend in San Francisco is in need of some inspiration.

I’m taking my backpack as my carry on and I’m checking a bag. My mom and I are sort of splitting the checked bag, so I think it’s worth the extra cost.

Let’s start with my carry-on.

-My laptop for Googling, blogging, messing around in the airport.

-Phone, Bluetooth headphones, regular headphones.

-A journal and a book for the plane and the layover.

-Wallet with ID. Very important because I need it to 1) get on the plane 2) get my bib and 3) get myself an adult beverage on Sunday night

-Charging cords for my laptop, phone, Bluetooth headphones, and Garmin

-Sunglasses and chapstick.

-Snacks for the plane because airport food is very expensive and California has 9% sales tax and Idaho has 6%.

-Running shoes, shorts, socks, and a sports bra. Just in case my luggage gets lost, I can still run the marathon.

-Water bottle (empty).

In my checked bag (not everything, just the main categories.)

-Non-running clothes: jeans, shirts, a jacket because San Francisco is supposed to be in the 50s-60s.

-Spare running shoes and spare running outfit.

-Bathroom stuff: toothbrush, tooth paste, shampoo/conditioner, Neutrogena face wipes (very convenient for washing your face while traveling)

-Deodorant and Body Glide. Sunscreen.

-Foam roller.

-Mid-run fuel. I’m going to use Gatorade chews.

-My Hipster Training Pak (ordered off of Amazon.)

-Bagels. Peanut butter (with a knife just in case.) Rice cakes for a quick carb source and some protein bars. I take my snacks very seriously.

-Pajamas and fuzzy socks.

-Compression socks.

That about covers it! I really don’t like packing so I’m glad to have that over with. I’m so excited to spend the weekend with my mom in what has always been one of my favorite cities. I’m so excited-nervous-impatient-terrified-ecstatic-in disbelief to run the marathon on Sunday.

Thanks for joining me on this ride so far!
Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

