Sunday Recap: Week 7

I’m not gonna lie, this week nothing went according to plan. But let’s start from the beginning.

Monday: My running class was supposed to run 3-4 miles so I got there early to get in 2 before, because my plan called for 6 miles. Everything was going great until about mile 4 when suddenly my hip flared up with pain. I tried to stretch it out, which helped a little, but it was very painful the rest of the way back.

IMG_0564

Tuesday: Back and bis workout and then my vinyasa yoga class. I skipped my 3 mile run to give my hip a rest. It didn’t feel too bad, plus not going for a run gave me the chance to make some progress on my essay. And I cuddled Obi. He was not amused.

IMG_0581

Wednesday: Another rainy, worm-infested track workout. My hip actually felt pretty good. Instead of constant, sharp pain, it just felt sore. I still cut my workout short because I didn’t want to aggravate it. Kate suggested that instead of doing one long run over the weekend, I should split it up.

Thursday: Normally, I do a leg workout on Thursday but instead I did an ab circuit. I regretted it immensely Friday morning because I was so sore I could barely sit up. Also, lately I’ve been liking my jeans much more than my leggings. Must be the spring air.

IMG_0585

Friday: Matt had the Engineering Expo today so I went to the gym on my own to get in a chest and shoulders workout. I’ve definitely noticed that I’m getting stronger, which is incredibly motivating to me. Then I had class, had lunch, got some essay writing done, and went for a nice 6 mile run listening to “The Ali on the Run Show.” No hip pain!

Saturday: Obi woke me up four times scratching at the bed or chewing on the U-Haul boxes currently being stored in our room. Matt was hogging the bed and I seriously questioned my decision to move in with my boyfriend and get a cat. But then Obi cuddled with me before my run and Matt went back to his side.

Six miles in the spring sunshine. Again, my hip didn’t really hurt but I think I bruised the top of my left foot somehow, because that hurt the whole time. Oh well. If it’s not one thing, it’s another.

IMG_0608

Grocery shopping, laundry, and a lot of painful essay-writing later and after all that I went to bed early with a headache.

Sunday: Sadly, there will still be lots of essay writing (I have two essays due on Thursday) but I’m hosting a girls’ brunch with all my friends so we can decorate our graduation caps! I’m really excited to see my friends and eat some yummy food and drink a lot of coffee. And at least one mimosa, because let’s be honest, I’m not going to skip out on graduation celebration because I’m training for a marathon.

So, all in all, this week has been the toughest for me. I really wanted to run my twelve miles yesterday because I love knowing I can do it. I really want to be able to run without thinking constantly about making sure my hip doesn’t hurt. I know this is a very minor injury (if it’s even that) but it’s my first one in this training cycle, so I’m a little hyper-sensitive.

IMG_0597

This is one of the shoe tags Matt gave me for Christmas. I repeated it to myself so many times this week, when something hurt, or my head told me to stop. “Just keep running.” Yes, I’ve had some mediocre and bad runs these past few weeks. But that means I’m due for a really good run and I’m honestly hoping that it comes next Saturday when I run 13 (but let’s be honest, I’m really going to run 13.1 because at 13, what’s 0.1 more?)

Plus, this is my last week of classes as an undergrad. Tuesday is also my birthday and I’ll be 22. Two weeks from today, I’ll be moving into my new apartment. It’s a good time to be me.

I’ll leave you with this picture just because I think it is so darn cute:

IMG_0593

Leave a Reply

