Why San Francisco?

Hello again. I hope you’re having a good week and I sincerely hope the weather is more predictable than it is here in northern Idaho. Monday: snow and rain. Tuesday: Sun and wind. Today: Rain.

Today, I want to talk about why I picked the San Francisco Marathon as my first marathon. Much like Monday’s post, I decided to list five of my reasons. But today, we’re going to countdown to the number one reason. Here we go!

#5- The timing of the race was one of the deciding factors. When I first decided to run a marathon, I knew I had to run it before August because I would be starting law school. I also knew I wanted to train during part of my last semester of college. San Francisco fit this perfectly: race day is July 23, which has enabled me to basically split my training between my last semester and working this summer.

#4- Since I wanted to run in the summer, I wanted to run somewhere with a more forgiving climate than Idaho. There is a marathon in eastern Idaho around the same time but sometimes late summer in Idaho is in the upper nineties, with heavy smoke inversions from forest fires and that is the most miserable running combination known to man or woman. San Francisco, even if California is hot, is right on the coast, so it should be reasonable, weather-wise.

IMG_0333

#3- San Francisco is relatively close to Idaho, meaning travel time would be minimal. Flying out of Idaho can be tricky because there are only direct flights to a handful of western cities. Most of the time, you have to take at least one connecting flight to either Seattle or Salt Lake City. If I was going to, say, New York or Philadelphia, that would be a lot more flying. So, proximity for the win!

#2- My mom grew up in central California. She knows San Francisco and I figured that meant I had a pretty good chance of talking her into going with me. I want someone to explore the city with and I want someone there at the finish line in case I can’t walk. Anyway, my brilliant plan worked better than I thought because my mom is going to run the half-marathon, so now it’s a girls’ running weekend.

image2

Brief side note: My mom is a certified badass. I’ll have to dedicate a whole post to her and how she’s training for the half-marathon.

Drum roll please…

#1 Part of the course for the San Francisco Marathon is running across the Golden Gate Bridge. Twice. Supposedly, most people run across the bridge just as the sun is coming up and that is an experience I want. Honestly, it’s probably the biggest reason my mom wants to run the half-marathon. Running across the Golden Gate Bridge is on her bucket list. It’s on mine too, and we get to cross it off together.

There you have it, my top five reasons for choosing San Francisco. Do I know San Francisco is famous for its hills? Yes, I do. Am I going to let that stop me? Nope.

I think that no matter which marathon you choose as your first, some part of the course will scare you. Think of it as another way to exercise your will not to quit before you toe the starting line on race day.

Until next time, beautiful humans,

Elizabeth

Was there ever a race course that scared you? If so, what was it?

If you’ve run San Francisco, please let me know any tips you have!

Leave a Reply

