Sunday Recap

Week 4 of marathon training is done!

Monday: 4 easy miles. This is one of the days I have my running class, so I got to spend those 4 miles chatting and getting to know the other people in it.

IMG_0395

Tuesday: Gym workout in the morning: back, bis, and abs. Then 3 gorgeous, beautiful sunny miles that I got in while listening to two of my favorite runners’ podcasts: Ali on the Run Show and Run, Selfie, Repeat. I also thoroughly enjoyed running in shorts.

IMG_0399

Wednesday: Kate (running teacher/coach) had to reschedule class for Thursday morning so I did Wednesday’s workout on my own. Here’s the summary: Holy headwind. I wrote up an in-depth post about my first hill workout if you want more details.

IMG_0405

Thursday: Another gym workout, this time legs and abs. I also did a lot of foam rolling that night, which I’m grateful for, because otherwise walking on Friday would have been hellish.

IMG_0423

Friday: Matt and I went to the gym to do a chest and shoulders workout. Five minutes after we got there, the power went out and immediately came back on- sort of. After they couldn’t figure out what was going on, they evacuated the rec and so we came home. I drank coffee and then we had dinner with my best friend Shelby and her husband Kyle.

FullSizeRender (1)

Saturday: 9 miles. Let me tell you, this run was not fun. Physically, I felt pretty good the whole time, considering I haven’t run that far in five months. I made an effort to keep my pace in check which definitely helped. But about five minutes after I left my apartment, the rain turned to snow. And, since it’s officially spring, AKA the windiest season here in Idaho, I got to contend with snow pelting me in the face for the next 8.5 miles. My gloves and socks were soaked by mile 4 and all I wanted was to go home. But I didn’t. I stuck it out and finished in 1:24:10. Go me.

IMG_0435

I was too cold and wet for a post-run selfie so I took this once I was inside. Notice the snow still stuck to my pants? Thank God for these Nike tights, they kept my lower half nice and warm. Oh, I also tried my first mid-run fuel, which was a vanilla bean flavored gu. Not a fan. It tasted like honey but had just enough vanilla to taste wrong. I didn’t like it. At all. Oh, well, that’s why I bought 4 different kinds to try.

After my run, Matt and I went to Costco in Clarkston. Clarkston is at a lower elevation so there was no snow and I was really excited to see the dogwood trees blooming. When we got back, I took a nap and watched Netflix all day. We had breakfast for dinner. It was delicious.

IMG_0438

Sunday: My rest day. So far, I’ve slept in, had two cups of coffee, and worked on some writing. I’ve also got homework to do, as well as a massive amount of laundry and some grocery shopping. In other exciting news, graduation is now five weeks away. It still seems really far away but I have a feeling time is going to fly.

Tomorrow, I’m going to share why I decided to run a marathon and then later in the week, I’ll share why I decided to run the San Francisco Marathon.

Until next time,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

