Eight Weeks and a Recipe

Hello, beautiful humans, and I hope your Monday was short and productive and un-Monday-ish. Pretend that’s an actual word.

There are only eight weeks left in this semester before I graduate. If you’re curious, I’m double majoring in psychology and English (creative writing emphasis) with a minor in history. In four years.

Where did the time go?

Anyway, I’m sure I’ll be sharing some of my senior year adventures. Today, I did 3 easy miles with my new running class. I made my first running friend and I’m so glad I didn’t let my introvert personality talk me out of this class.

I thought I’d share a dinner recipe Matt and I have been loving recently called crock pot fiesta chicken. I did not come up with it, so I’ll include the original link here.

It’s a crock pot recipe, which is a big winner because it requires almost no prep, I don’t have to stay in the kitchen to cook it, and it makes a lot, so we can have leftovers.

Step 1: Spray the crock pot with cooking spray. Do not skip this step. Add 1/2 cup of chicken broth and then 1 cup of rice. I use white jasmine rice because both Matt and I like it.

Step 2: Cut up two large chicken breasts into cubes. Put the chicken on top of the rice.

Step 3: Add 1 can of enchilada sauce and 1 can of diced green chiles.

IMG_0262

IMG_0263

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4: Add salt and cumin to taste. Matt isn’t a huge fan of cumin so I tend not to use very much. Cook for 3-4 hours on high or 6-8 on low.

IMG_0264

Voila! This usually makes enough for 4 meals (two for Matt, two for me.) Matt likes to put his in a tortilla with sour cream. I add avocado to mine. Protein, carbs, and a healthy fat with just a bit of spice.

IMG_0268

Okay, I’m not a food photographer and this isn’t the prettiest picture to feature avocado. My friend Noelle (@noellekruppa on Instagram) takes much prettier food pictures. I’ll have to study hers.

I do, however, excel at taking pictures of Obi.

IMG_0272

He actually got an accidental bath this morning. Matt turned on the shower without knowing Obi was in the tub and he ran into the office, one very startled and wet kitten. Poor guy. But he’s clearly doing just fine, since he’s back to napping like a champ.

Until next time,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

