Day 1

I mentioned on my first post that I’m using the Hal Higdon novice 1 marathon plan to train for San Francisco. I don’t consider myself a novice runner but I am definitely a novice marathoner. So, today, I started training with a 3 mile run.

IMG_0179

I like to run as soon as I wake up. I wore a long-sleeved shirt and some Nike crops, thinking it would be warm because yesterday was so sunny I got sunburned.

Wrong. My hands were freezing until the last mile, which made this 3 mile run feel much longer. But I got it done and as soon as I got home, I did a quick ab circuit before eating breakfast and coffee.

Like I said, I’m a novice marathoner but I’ve been running for almost ten years. My running schedule since Christmas has been two morning runs, 4 miles, and one weekend run, 6 miles. 3 miles feels so short and I’m restraining myself from going farther. I need to trust this plan.

IMG_0187

The Boise River is running very high and very fast at the moment.

Having a set training plan is new for me. In high school, I ran 2-3 miles after school most days and then ran 4-6 miles on the weekends. When I ran my (self-determined) half marathon this summer, I only ran one day a week. Not smart, I know, I know. I paid the price those last few miles.

Learning not to push myself, to hold back, is probably going to be one of the hardest parts of training. One of the things I enjoy the most about running is pushing to go faster or to go farther. I crave that exhausted satisfaction that follows a great run.

I’m going to keep reminding myself that going easy is what will let me run those 26.2 miles. I’m betting that exhausted satisfaction will be the best feeling in the world.

IMG_0190

Until next time,

E.

Do you have trouble holding back for easy or lower mileage runs?

What do you remember about your first training plan?

Does anyone else get overly optimistic about the weather after the first sunny day?

Leave a Reply

