Welcome!

Hello there and welcome to The Running Diaries!

I’m Elizabeth. I’m 21 and I am going to run the San Francisco Marathon on July 23, 2017. This is my first ever marathon and I’ve decided to share the experience here. Here’s a picture I took after my insanely fast (for me) 6 mile run this morning.

image1

(Red faced but smiling because my average pace was 8:23=hella fast for me.)

I started running when I was eighth grade because that was when my mom told me she started running. My mom’s been an avid runner her whole life. One of my earliest memories is being pushed in the jogging stroller with my younger brother.

image2

(Mom and I had to document our first tank-top run of the year.)

I remember when I was in tenth grade, instead of running one mile after school, I came home and ran two miles. I thought that was the greatest distance anyone had ever run. After that, running farther became more and more fun.

In high school and early into college, the farthest I ever ran was ten miles. I said I wanted to run a half-marathon but I wasn’t crazy so there was no way I was ever going to run a full.

Well. We know how that worked out.

No one I know personally has ever run a marathon. So, I’m using the wonders of the Internet to prepare myself. If anyone has any advice, please, share it with me.

I’m going to use Hal Higdon’s “Novice 1” marathon training plan. The only adjustment I’ve made is to shift one runĀ from Thursday to Monday and to cross-train on Thursday instead of Sunday. I’m doing this because for the first half of this training, I will still be in school. My Tuesdays and Thursdays are significantly longer than my Mondays and Wednesdays and I didn’t want to add extra stress to those two long days.

My first week of training starts on Monday, March 13. This is a little serendipitous because it is exactly two months before I graduate from college.

Am I crazy for signing up for a marathon I’ll be training for while I graduate from college and move and start my summer job and travel to Hawaii?

Maybe.

But I’m going to do it anyway.

Here’s to this new adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

